وقت القراءة 5 دقائق

ما هي أسواق الثور والدب؟

لعلك سمعت مراسلاً يتحدث عن سوق دب هبوطية في نشرة الأخبار، أو لعلك شاهدت تمثال الثور الهائج بالقرب من بورصة New York للأوراق المالية في مدينة نيويورك. لكن ما علاقة الحيوانات بالأسواق المالية، وعلى وجه التحديد، ما علاقة الثور والدب؟

ببساطة، سوق الثور (بالإنجليزية: Bull Market) هو عندما يكون السوق في اتجاه صعودي، و سوق الدب (بالإنجليزية: Bear Market) هو عندما يكون السوق في اتجاه هبوطي. وكل من أسواق الثور والدب لها تأثير كبير على محافظ المستثمرين، لذا فمن المهم أن تكون على دراية بما يعنيه كل منهما والتأثير الناجم عنها.

ما هو سوق الثور؟

عندما يكون السوق “سوق ثور” أو سوقًا صاعدة، يكون للسوق زخم إيجابي والاتجاه في حالة صعود. يحدث هذا عندما تكون ظروف السوق مواتية ويبدأ المستثمرون في اكتساب المزيد من الثقة في السوق. يمكن أن يكون هذا بسبب مجموعة متنوعة من الأسباب التي تسبب حدوث أسواق الثور، والتي سوف نتطرق إليها بعد قليل. يجب أن يتم تسجيل نمو بنسبة 20٪ على الأقل في متوسط أسعار الأسهم من قبل العديد من أسواق الأسهم لكي يتم تصنيف دورة السوق على أنها سوق ثور .

بعض الأمثلة على أسواق الثور تشمل سوق الثور من عام 1990 إلى عام 1999 عندما ارتفع مؤشر S&P 500 بنسبة 417٪ على مدى 113.4 شهرًا وسوق الثور من عام 2009 إلى عام 2020 عندما ارتفع مؤشر S&P 500 بنسبة 400.5٪ على مدى 131.4 شهرًا، وكانت الفترة الثانية هي أطول سوق ثور في التاريخ حتى الآن.

ما هي خصائص سوق الثور؟

عادة ما يتم تعريف سوق الثور من خلال الاتجاه الصعودي المستمر مع زيادة مستمرة في أسعار الأسهم. تؤدي المستويات المرتفعة لثقة المستهلك إلى زيادة الإيرادات التي تحققها الشركات، الأمر الذي يؤدي بدوره إلى زيادة أرباح الشركات والمساهمين، وبالتالي زيادة أسعار الأسهم وثقة المستثمرين.

بعض الخصائص المحددة لأسواق الثور تشمل:

  • معدلات توظيف قوية
  • زيادة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (GDP)
  • طلب قوي على الأوراق المالية
  • اقتصاد قوي
  • ثقة المستثمر العالية وتفاؤله
  • زيادة في العروض العامة الأولية (IPOs)

ما الذي يسبب في تحول سوق الثور إلى سوق الدب؟

يمكن أن يكون هناك العديد من الأسباب والمسببات وراء تحول سوق الثور إلى سوق الدب. عادة، يمكن أن يؤدي انخفاض آفاق النمو إلى انخفاض أسعار الأسهم، وهو ما يعكس عادة التوقعات المستقبلية للتدفقات النقدية.

يمكن أن تكون هناك أيضًا عوامل خارجية تؤدي إلى سوق الدب، على سبيل المثال، تدخل الحكومة في الاقتصاد مثل التغيرات في معدلات الضرائب، والاضطرابات السياسية، والكوارث الطبيعية، والأوبئة – كما رأينا مع جائحة كورونا وسوق الدب المناظرة في فبراير إلى مارس 2020.

ما هو سوق الدب؟

من ناحية أخرى، عندما يكون السوق “سوق دب” أو سوقًا “هابطًا”، يكون للسوق زخم سلبي ويكون الاتجاه في هبوط. وعلى عكس سوق الثور، يجب أن يكون هناك هبوط بنسبة 20٪ على الأقل أو أكثر في متوسط أسعار الأسهم حتى يتم اعتبار دورة السوق كسوق ثور .

خلال سوق الدب، يبدأ المستثمرون بفك ارتباط استثماراتهم وبيع مراكزهم لأنهم يبدأون في رؤية قيمة الأوراق المالية التي يحتفظون بها تنخفض، مما يضعف السوق بالعديد من الأسهم وبالتالي يؤدي إلى انخفاض إجمالي في أسعار الأسهم.

بعض الأمثلة على أسواق الدب تشمل سوق الدب من عام 1929 إلى عام 1932 وهي فترة (الكساد الكبير “The Great Depression”) حيث انخفض مؤشر S&P 500 بنسبة 86.2٪ على مدى 32.8 شهرًا وسوق الثور من عام 2007 إلى عام 2009 وهي فترة (الركود الاقتصادي الكبير “The Great Recession”) حيث انخفض مؤشر S&P 500 بنسبة 56.8٪. على مدى 17 شهرا.

ما هي خصائص سوق الدب (Bear Market)؟

عادة ما يتم تحديد سوق الدب من خلال اتجاه هبوطي مع انخفاض مستمر في الأسعار. يمكن أن تشمل بعض الخصائص المحددة لأسواق الدب ما يلي:

  • معدلات توظيف ضعيفة
  • انخفاض في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (GDP)
  • ضعف الطلب على الأوراق المالية
  • اقتصاد ضعيف
  • انخفاض ثقة المستثمر وتشاؤمه
  • انخفاض في العروض العامة الأولية (IPOs)

من أين أتت مصطلحات أسواق الدب والثور؟

هناك بعض النظريات حول مكان اشتقاق المصطلحين أسواق الثور وأسواق الدب. تأتي النظرية الأولى من الطريقة التي تهاجم بها الثيران – عن طريق دفع قرونها لأعلى، ومن تأرجح مخالب الدببة لأسفل عندما تهاجم.

النظرية الثانية مشتقة من القرن الثامن عشر، عندما باع الوسطاء في مبيعات جلود الدببة التي لم يتلقوها بعد، مضاربين على السعر الآجل للجلود، على أمل أن يخفض الصيادون سعرهم. أصبح هؤلاء الوسطاء يُعرفون باسم الدببة، ولأن الثيران هم عكس الدببة، فقد تم تشكيل المصطلحين سوق الثور وسوق الدب.

كيف تؤثر أسواق الثور والدب على الاقتصاد؟

بما أن الاقتصاد وسوق الأسهم مرتبطان ارتباطًا وثيقًا، يمكنك عمومًا توقع أنه إذا كان أداء الاقتصاد ضعيفًا، فمن المحتمل أن يكون السوق في حالة سوق الدب، وإذا كان أداء الاقتصاد على ما يرام، فمن المحتمل أن يكون السوق في حالة سوق الثور.

ولكن، هناك حالات يمكن أن يحدث فيها العكس، مثل جائحة كورونا. بعد أن وصل سوق الأسهم إلى أدنى مستوى له في مارس 2020، بدأ سوق الأسهم في تحدي الصعاب والارتفاع. يتوقع المستثمرون أن هذا يرجع إلى أن أسهم شركات التكنولوجيا الكبيرة – مثل (Netflix (NFLX و Amazon (AMZN) – قد تفوقوا كأشخاص محجورين في المنزل، وبما أنهم مدرجون في العديد من مؤشرات السوق ولديهم بعض أكبر المؤشرات المرجحة بالأسعار، مثل مؤشر S&P 500، فقد تسببوا في تحول السوق إلى اتجاه صعودي.

time to read 5 minutes

What are bull and bear markets?

Maybe you’ve heard a reporter refer to a declining bear market on the news, or maybe you’ve seen the Charging Bull statue near the New York Stock Exchange in New York City. But what do animals have to do with financial markets, and specifically, a bull and a bear?

Simply put, a bull market is when the market is in an upward trend, and a bear market is when the market is in a downward trend. Both bull and bear markets have a substantial impact on investors’ portfolios, so it’s important to be aware of what they both mean and the impact of both.

What is a bull market?

When the market is a “bull” market, the market has positive momentum and is on an incline. This happens when market conditions are favorable and investors begin to have more confidence in the market. This can be due to a variety of reasons that cause bull markets, which we will go into in a bit. Growth of at least 20% in average stock prices has to be registered by several stock exchanges for a market cycle to be categorized as a bull market.

Some examples of bull markets include the 1990-1999 bull market when the S&P 500 rose 417% over the span of 113.4 months and the 2009-2020 bull market when the S&P 500 rose 400.5% over the span of 131.4 months, the latter being the longest bull market in history thus far.

What are the characteristics of a bull market?

A bull market is typically defined by an upward continuing trend with a sustained increase in stock prices. High consumer confidence levels lead to more revenue generated by companies, which in turn leads to higher profits for companies and shareholders, therefore increasing share prices and investor confidence.

Some specific characteristics of bull markets include:

  • Strong employment rates
  • Increase in Gross Domestic Product (GDP)
  • Strong demand for securities
  • Strong economy
  • High investor confidence and optimism
  • Increase in Initial Public Offerings (IPOs)

What causes a bull market to turn into a bear market?

There can be many reasons and causes behind a bull market transitioning into a bear market. Typically, a decline in growth prospects can lead to a decline in stock prices, which usually reflects future expectations of cash flows.

There can also be external factors that trigger a bear market, for example, intervention by government in the economy such as changes in tax rates, political unrest, natural disasters, and pandemics – as we have seen with the COVID pandemic and the corresponding bear market in February to March 2020.

What is a bear market?

On the other hand, when the market is a “bear” market, the market has negative momentum and is in a decline. Opposite to a bull market, there should be a decline of at least 20% or more in average stock prices for a market cycle to be considered a bear market.

During a bear market, investors begin to disengage their investments and sell positions because they start to see the value of the securities that they hold dropping, diluting the market with many shares and therefore leading to an overall decrease in share prices.

Some examples of bear markets include the 1929 – 1932 bear market (The Great Depression) where the S&P 500 declined 86.2% over the span of 32.8 months and the 2007-2009 bull market (The Great Recession) where the S&P 500 declined 56.8% over the span of 17 months.

What are the characteristics of a bear market?

A bear market is typically defined by a downward trend with sustained decrease in prices. Some specific characteristics of bear markets can include:

  • Weak employment rates
  • Decrease in GDP
  • Weak demand for securities
  • Weak economy
  • Low investor confidence and pessimism
  • Decrease in IPOs

Where did the terms bull and bear markets come from?

There are a few theories about where the terms bull and bear markets are derived from. The first theory comes from the way bulls attack – by thrusting their horns upwards, and the downwards swinging of a bear’s claws when they attack.

The second theory is derived from the eighteenth century, when middlemen in the sales of bearskins sold skins they didn’t yet receive, speculating on the future price of the skins, hoping the trappers would drop their price. These middlemen became known as bears, and because bulls are the opposite of bears, the terms bull market and bear market were formed.

How do bull and bear markets affect the economy?

Since the economy and the stock market are strongly correlated, in general you can expect that if the economy is doing poorly, it is probably a bear market, and if the economy is doing well, it is probably a bull market.

But, there are instances where the opposite can occur, such as during COVID-19 pandemic. After the stock market reached its lowest point in March 2020, the stock market began to defy odds and rally. Investors speculate that this is because big tech stocks – like Netflix (NFLX) and Amazon (AMZN) – have outperformed as people quarantined at home, and since they are included in many market indexes and have some of the largest weights in those indexes, such as the S&P 500, they have caused the market to become bullish.