وقت القراءة 5 دقائق

ما هو تقلب السوق؟

هل سبق لك أن واجهت اضطرابًا على متن طائرة بعد رحلة سلسة نسبيًا؟ من مطبات وهزات في الأعصاب التي تشعر بها، يمكن أن يكون هذا هو ما تشعر به تقلبات السوق. إذا كنت تستثمر في سوق الأسهم سواء كنت متداولاً قصير الأجل أو مستثمرًا طويل الأجل، فمن المحتمل أن ترى وتختبر التقلبات وعدم اليقين في الأسواق التي تستثمر فيها.

ما هو التقلب؟

تقلبات السوق هي مقدار أو نطاق التغيّر في سوق مالية، مقارنة بمتوسط الأداء للسوق نفسه. وعادة ما يتميز بارتفاع أو انخفاض حاد في أداء السوق. قياسًا بالانحراف المعياري لعائد الاستثمار، يمكن أن تتراوح التقلبات من كونها شديدة التقلب – والتي من شأنها أن تشهد انحرافًا معياريًا عاليًا، إلى مستقرة – والتي قد تشهد انحرافًا معياريًا أقرب إلى الصفر.

ما الذي يسبب تقلبات السوق؟

من الطبيعي تمامًا أن تشهد الأسواق تقلبات. هناك العديد من العوامل التي يمكن أن تسبب التقلبات، وعلى الرغم من أنه من المفيد فهم بعض العوامل الرئيسية التي يمكن أن تسبب التقلبات، إلا أن أي شيء يمكن أن يسبب التقلب. تقارير الأرباح والاكتتابات العامة (IPOs) يمكن أن تخلق تقلبات طفيفة، في حين أن الأحداث الأكبر مثل ارتفاع أسعار الفائدة في الولايات المتحدة، والأوبئة (كما نشهد حاليًا مع جائحة COVID-19)، والعواصف الجوية الكبيرة، والاضطرابات السياسية، والحروب التجارية يمكن أن تخلق تقلّبات أكبر.

ما هو الذكاء العاطفي؟

الذكاء العاطفي وفقًا لتعريف عالم النفس “بيتر سالوفي” و المؤلف “جون ماير”، هو “القدرة على الانخراط في معالجة المعلومات المعقدة حول مشاعر المرء وعواطف الآخرين والقدرة على استخدام هذه المعلومات كدليل للتفكير والسلوك”. يمكن للتقلبات أن تخلق مجموعة من المشاعر للمستثمرين، من الإثارة والعصبية إلى الخوف، وقد تلاحظ أن عواطفك يمكن أن تخيم على حكمك. سوف يتطلب الأمر انضباطًا لتكون قادرًا على إدارة عواطفك أثناء تقلبات السوق والحفاظ على تركيز ثابت على أهدافك طويلة المدى.

كيف يؤثر التقلّب على محفظتي؟

يمكن أن يكون لتقلبات السوق تأثير على محفظتك، واعتمادًا على تخصيص الأصول وتنويعها وشدة التقلبات، يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير على نطاقات محفظتك.

لهذا السبب يمكن أن يساعد تنويع محفظتك ليس فقط حسب نوع الأسهم، ولكن أيضًا حسب نوع الأصول، بما في ذلك الأسهم والسندات والسلع وما في حكمها.

يمكن لتقلبات السوق أن تؤثر على التداول في حالات معينة. يمكن أن يتسبب ذلك في حدوث تأخيرات بسبب الحجم الكبير للتداول أو المشكلات التقنية مع أنظمة التداول بسبب أحجام التداول الكبيرة أو الأسعار المتطرفة لأن السوق قد يتغير بسرعة.للمساعدة في تعويض بعض هذه المخاطر، قد تختار استخدام أمر محدد عند التداول، وهو أمر للحصول على كمية محددة مسبقًا من الأسهم بسعر معين.

قد تكون هناك حالات شديدة التطرّف حيث قد ترى تقلبات غير مسبوقة في السوق، مثل أثناء جائحة COVID-19 الحالية. حيث تراجعت الأسواق في مارس 2020 ودخلت البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم عمليات إغلاق داخلها وخارجها. ثم انتعش مؤشر S&P 500 منذ انخفاضه بنسبة 33.8٪ في مارس، لكن معدلات البطالة لا تزال عند مستويات قياسية وتواصل أسعار الفائدة الأمريكية التأرجح عند أدنى مستوى لها منذ الأزمة المالية لعام 2008.

ما الذي يمكنني فعله لحماية محفظتي من التقلبات؟

عندما تواجه تقلبًا، تذكر أن تظل هادئًا. خذ خطوة للوراء وأعد النظر في محفظتك وتأكد من حصولك على التنويع الصحيح لتقليل المخاطر إلى أقصى حد ممكن. قد تكون القيادة الجيدة، والميزانية العمومية القوية، والسجلات القوية مؤشرات جيدة على أن الشركة ستكون قادرة على الصمود في وجه العاصفة. مع انخفاض أسعار الأسهم، قد تشعر أن هذا هو الوقت المناسب بالفعل لشراء أسهم في شركة لطالما رغبت فيها ولكن لم تتح لك الفرصة لذلك بسبب ارتفاع أسعار الأسهم قبل تقلب السوق. ولكن، “اشترِ القاع” فقط إذا كنت تعتقد أن سعر السهم سيتعافى بمرور الوقت وكنت مستثمر طويل الأجل.

مع تأرجحات السوق وتقلباته، يحاول بعض المستثمرين بشكل استراتيجي البيع قبل أن ينخفض السوق كثيرًا، ثم يشترون مع موجة السوق الصاعدة. ونظرًا لأنه يكاد يكون من المستحيل تحديد وقت السوق، فإن هذا لا يعمل في العادة مع أي شخص. يصعب تحديد اتجاه السوق حين يكون شديد التقلب، وقد يتسبب ذلك في تولي العواطف زمام الأمور وجعل المتداولين يتخذون خيارات استثمارية سيئة، مما قد يتسبب في خسارة الكثير للمستثمرين وتفويت النمو المحتمل الذي يأتي مع موجة الارتفاع. إذا كنت مستثمرًا طويل الأجل، فقد تشعر أنه يمكن تجنب هذه الحالة تمامًا من خلال التمسك بالاستثمارات طوال فترة التقلبات للتغلب على العاصفة.

عادة لأغراض التداول اليومي، تعمل صناديق الاستثمار المتداولة المعكوسة عكس ما يفعله السوق، مما يسمح للمستثمرين بتعويض التقلبات المحتملة. ربح ETFs معكوس من انخفاض في قيمة المعيار الأساسي. خلال أحدث سوق الكحوليات بين فبراير ومارس 2020 حيث انخفض مؤشر S&P 500 بنسبة 33.8٪، كان أفضل ETF معكوس على أساس العائد الإجمالي هو ProShares Short Russell 2000 (RWM).

ليس من المضمون أبدًا عودة أسعار الأسهم إلى مستوياتها السابقة خلال تقلبات السوق، ولكن تاريخيًا، تعافت سوق الأسهم الأمريكية بعد فترات الانكماش. تحقيقًا لهذه الغاية، من المهم دائمًا إبقاء عواطفك تحت السيطرة وتوقع تقلبات السوق بأفضل ما يمكنك من خلال فهم أسباب التقلبات. من الطبيعي أن تمر بالتقلبات أثناء الاستثمار في سوق الأسهم (أو أي سوق مالية)، وكلما كان من الأفضل توقع ذلك والتخطيط له بالتنويع والبقاء هادئًا، كانت النتيجة أفضل سترى. إذا اخترت التداول أثناء تقلبات السوق ، فاحرص على أن يكون لديك فهم جيد المخاطر وأن تبقيها دومًا في ذهنك.

time to read 5 minutes

What is market volatility?

Have you ever experienced turbulence on an airplane after a relatively smooth flight? From the bumps and jolts down to the nerves you feel, this can be what market volatility feels like. If you’re investing in stock markets, whether you are a short-term trader or long-term investor, you will likely see and experience volatility and uncertainty in the markets you are investing in.

What is volatility?

Market volatility is the magnitude or range of the change in a market, compared to what is an average performance for the same market. It’s usually characterized by sharp rises or falls in market performance. Measured by the standard deviation of the return on investment, volatility can range from being very volatile – which would see a high standard deviation, to stable – which would see a standard deviation closer to 0.

What creates market volatility?

It’s completely natural for markets to have volatility. There are various factors that can cause volatility, and while it’s helpful to understand some of the main factors that can cause volatility, practically anything can cause it. Earnings reports and IPOs can create minor volatility, while larger events such as U.S. interest rate hikes, pandemics (as we are currently experiencing with the COVID-19 pandemic), large weather storms, political unrest and trade wars can create larger volatility.

What is Emotional Intelligence?

Emotional intelligence, defined by Peter Salovey and John Mayer, is “the ability to engage in sophisticated information processing about one’s own and others’ emotions and the ability to use this information as a guide to thinking and behavior.” Volatility can create a range of emotions for investors, from excitement and nervousness to fear, and you may notice that your emotions can cloud your judgement. It will take discipline to be able to manage your emotions during market volatility and stay laser focused on your long-term goals.

How does volatility impact my portfolio?

Market volatility can have an impact on your portfolio, and depending on your asset allocation and diversification and the intensity of the volatility, the amount of impact it can have on your portfolio ranges.

That’s why it can help to diversify your portfolio not only by type of equities, but also by type of assets, including stocks, bonds, commodities and cash-equivalents.

Market volatility can even impact trading in certain instances. It can cause delays because of the high volumes of trading, digital issues with trading systems because of the high volumes, or incorrect quotes because the market may be changing rapidly. To help offset some of these risks, you might choose to utilize a limit order when trading, which is an order for a predetermined amount of shares at a specific price.

There may be extreme cases where you might see unprecedented market volatility, such as during the current COVID-19 pandemic. The markets plummeted in March 2020 and countries around the world have been in and out of lockdowns. The S&P 500 rebounded since it’s 33.8% drop in March, but unemployment rates are still at record highs and U.S. interest rates continue to hover at their lowest point since the 2008 financial crisis.

What can I do to protect my portfolio from volatility?

When you encounter volatility, remember to stay calm. Take a step back and relook at your portfolio and ensure you have the right diversification to minimize your risk as best as possible. Good leadership, strong balance sheets and strong track records may be good indicators that a company will be able to weather the storm. As stock prices decline, you might feel that this can actually be a good time to buy shares in a company that you have always wanted but haven’t had the chance to because of high share prices before the volatile market. But, only “buy the dip” if you believe that the stock price will recover over time and you are a long-term investor.

With market swings and volatility, some investors strategically try to sell before the market declines too much, and then buy on the market upswing. Since it’s nearly impossible to time the market, this never usually works in any one’s favor. Trends are difficult to spot when the market is extremely volatile and this could cause emotions to take over and traders to make bad investment choices, which can cause investors to lose too much and miss out on the potential growth that comes with an upswing. If you are a long-term investor, you might feel that this instance can be avoided altogether by holding on to investments throughout a period of volatility to ride out the storm.

Typically for day-trading purposes, inverse ETFs perform opposite of what the market is doing, allowing investors to potentially offset the volatility. Inverse ETFs profit from a decline in the value of its underlying benchmark. During the most recent bear market between February and March 2020 where the S&P 500 dropped by 33.8%, the best inverse ETF based on total return was the ProShares Short Russell 2000 (RWM).

It’s never guaranteed that stock prices will return to their previous levels during market volatility, but historically, the U.S. stock market has recovered after periods of downturns. To that end, it’s important to always keep your emotions in check and anticipate market volatility as best as you can by understanding what causes volatility. It’s natural to experience volatility while investing in the stock market and the better you can anticipate it and plan for it with diversification and staying calm, the better outcome you will see. If you do choose to trade during market volatility, ensure that you understand and remember the risks.