وقت القراءة 5 دقائق

ما هو ارتباط الاستثمار؟

العلاقات.. هي شيء لدينا جميعًا – منها الإيجابية والسلبية والعشوائية. وخمن من أيضًا لديه علاقات؟ الأسهم والسندات والسلع وغيرها من الأدوات المالية! وتُسمي العلاقة بين اثنين من الأصول بـ ارتباط استثمار أو ترابطية الاستثمار (بالانجليزية Investment Correlation).

ولنكون أكثر تحديدًا، فإن ارتباط الاستثمار هو العلاقة بين الوسط (أو المجال) لاثنين من الأصول. ويمكن أن يكون للأصول ارتباط إيجابي أو ارتباط سلبي أو معدوم (عدم وجود ارتباط). ويمكن قياس الارتباط بين أنواع مختلفة من الأوراق المالية، مثل السندات والسلع والأسهم، كما يمكن أيضًا قياسه للأوراق المالية من نفس النوع، على سبيل المثال بين سهمين مختلفين. ولكن لماذا من المهم فهم الارتباط؟ لعلك خمنت ذلك، الارتباط عامل مهم لأسلوب التنويع في محفظتك الاستثمارية.

كيف يتم حساب الارتباط؟

حسناً، لنذهب للجانب العملي. معامل الارتباط هو المقياس لارتباط الاستثمار. لإيجاد معامل الارتباط، قم بأخذ الانحراف المعياري للأصل X مضروبًا في الانحراف المعياري للأصل Y، ثم قسم التباين (covariance) بين كلا الأصلين على ذلك الرقم. يمكنك استخدام معامل الارتباط لتحديد الارتباط بين أصلين، على وجه التحديد، معرفة ما إذا كانا مرتبطين بشكل إيجابي أو مرتبطين سلبًا أو لا يوجد بينهم ترابط.

ماذا يعني الارتباط الإيجابي؟

يحدث الارتباط الإيجابي عندما يتحرك أداء أصلين مع بعضهما البعض. هل سبق لك أن رميت كرتين من كرات التنس في الهواء في نفس الوقت؟ عند القيام بذلك، كلاهما يقعان في نفس الوقت. وذلك يعني أن الكرتين لديهما ترابط إيجابي.

وعندما يكون هناك أصلان مرتبطان تمامًا ببعضهما البعض، يكون لديهما ارتباط 1.0. عادةً، سترى إشارات إلى الأصول التي لها ارتباط كبير برقم أقل بقليل من 1.0.

مثال على أصلين لهما ارتباط إيجابي هما سهمي Uber Technologies (UBER) و Lyft Inc (LYFT) في الفترة 1 يناير 2020 وحتى 1 سبتمبر 2020. وكلاهما شركات تقنية تعمل في قطاع المواصلات (أو خدمات التاكسي المعروفة). إذا قارنت كل من أداء أسهمهم لعام 2020، فقد كان لكلاهما أداء مماثل على مدار العام وحتى الآن.

الرسم البياني 1: LYFT ـ https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/stock/lyft
الرسم البياني 2: UBER ـ https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/stock/UBER

ماذا يعني الارتباط السلبي؟

يحدث الارتباط السلبي عندما يتحرك أداء أصلين ضد بعضهما البعض.

فكر في العودة إلى أيام طفولتك من اللعب في الملعب. هل سبق لك أن كنت على أرجوحة؟ عندما يرتفع أحد الجانبين، ينخفض الجانب الآخر. هذا ما يعنيه الارتباط السلبي.

إذا كان هناك أصلان مرتبطان سلبيًا تمامًا، فسيكون لديهم معامل ارتباط -1.0. وعادةً، سترى إشارات إلى الأصول التي لها ارتباط سلبي برقم أعلى بقليل من -1.0.

مثال على أصلين لهما علاقة سلبية هما صندوق النفط الأمريكي (USO) و صندوق Global Jets ETF الأمريكي (JETS). لنأخذ نظرة على أداء كلاهما خلال الأشهر الثلاثة الماضية كمثال، بين 1 يونيو 2020 إلى 1 سبتمبر 2020. من الواضح في الرسوم البيانية أن هذين الأصلين يرتبطان سلبًا.

 

 

الرسم البياني 3: USO ـ https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/fund/uso
الرسم البياني 4: JETS ـ https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/fund/jets

ما الذي يعنيه عدم وجود ارتباط الاستثمار؟

عندما لا يكون هناك ارتباط استثماري بين أصلين، يكون ذلك عندما يكون ارتباطهما قريبًا من الصفر. هل سبق لك أن شاهدت كيف تكون فضلات الكلاب الصغيرة متناثرة على الطريق في اتجاهات عشوائية؟ قد يكون هذا مثال رائعًا لشيء ليس له ترابط.

وبقدر ما نحب جميعًا الجراء (الكلاب الصغيرة)، فإن هناك مثال (أكثر صلة) على أصلين ليس لهما أي ارتباط، وهما SPDR Gold Shares (GLD) و Moderna ، Inc. (MRNA) في الفترة بين 1 أغسطس 2020 و 1 سبتمبر 2020. SPDR Gold Shares تتعقب أداء الذهب، وشركة Moderna، Inc. هي شركة تكنولوجيا حيوية، وعلى الأخص تطوير لقاح مرشح لـ COVID-19. في الرسوم البيانية أدناه، سترى أنه ليس لديهم الكثير من الارتباط ببعضهم البعض خلال هذا الإطار الزمني، وبالتالي فهم غير مرتبطين.

الرسم البياني 5: GLD ـ https://finance.yahoo.com/quote/GLD/
الرسم البياني 6: MRNA ـ https://finance.yahoo.com/quote/mrna?ltr=1

ما فائدة ارتباط الاستثمار في التنويع؟

يعد الارتباط ضروريًا عند التفكير في استثمار محفظتك وكيفية تنويع استثمارك من الأسهم أو الأصول أو الأدوات المالية التي تستثمر بها. حيث تعمل بعض الأصول بشكل جيد في حين يعمل بعضها الآخر بشكل سيء خلال نفس عوامل الاقتصاد الكلي. لننظر في تأثير جائحة كورونا الحالية كمثال. شهدنا ارتفاع أسهم شركات التكنولوجيا، بينما انخفضت أسهم شركات الطيران.

تجادل نظرية المحفظة الحديثة أنه من خلال تقليل الارتباط بين الأصول داخل المحفظة، يمكن للمستثمرين التنويع وتقليل مخاطرهم.

يمكن أن يساعدك العثور على الأصول غير المرتبطة في إدارة المخاطر لضمان حصولك على المزيج الصحيح من الأوراق المالية بحيث تكون محفظتك أقل عرضة لتحركات كبيرة في السوق.

ضع في اعتبارك أن الارتباط بين بعض الأوراق المالية يمكن أن يتغير، لا سيما خلال فترات زمنية مختلفة. فقد يكون مقياس الأداء في شهر يناير 2019 مقارنة بشهر يناير من عام 2020 لنفس الأصلين مختلفًا تمامًا. ولكن اذا كان هناك ترابط بين أصلين لفترة طويلة من الزمن، فمن المحتمل أن هذا الترابط سيستمر في المستقبل القريب على الأغلب، في حال لم تكن هناك عوامل اقتصادية كلية رئيسية تؤثر على كل منهما.

time to read 5 minutes

What is investment correlation?

Relationships. We all have them – positive ones, negative ones, random ones. Guess what else can have a relationship? Stocks, bonds, commodities, and more! We call the relationship between two assets investment correlation.

To be concise, investment correlation is the relationship between the average of two assets. Assets can have positive correlation, negative correlation or no correlation. Correlation can be measured between different types of securities, such as bonds, commodities and stocks, but can also be measured for the same type of security, for example between two different stocks. But why is correlation important to understand? You might have guessed by now, correlation is an important factor to diversifying your portfolio.

How is correlation calculated?

Let’s get technical. The correlation coefficient is the calculation for investment correlation. To find the correlation coefficient, take the standard deviation of asset X multiplied by the standard deviation of asset Y, and divide the covariance of both assets by that number. You can use the correlation coefficient to identify a correlation between two assets, specifically, if they are positively correlated, negatively correlated or uncorrelated.

What does positive correlation mean?

Positive correlation happens when the performance of two assets move with each other. Have you ever thrown two tennis balls in the air at the same time? When doing so, they both fall at the same time. That means that they are positively correlated.

When two assets are completely correlated with each other, they have a correlation of 1.0. Typically, you’ll see references to assets that have high correlation with a number just under 1.0.

An example of two assets that have positive correlation are Uber Technologies (UBER) and Lyft Inc (LYFT) between 1 January 2020 and 1 September 2020. Both companies are technology companies focusing on ride sharing. If you compare both their stock performance for 2020, both have had similar performances throughout the year thus far.

Graph 1: LYFT https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/stock/lyft
Graph 2: UBER https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/stock/UBER

What does negative correlation mean?

Negative correlation happens when the performance of two assets move against each other.

Think back to your childhood days playing on a playground. Have you ever been on a see-saw? When one side goes up, the other side goes down. This is negative correlation.

If two assets are completely negatively correlated, they have a correlation of -1.0. Typically, you’ll see references to assets that have negative correlation with a number just above -1.0.

An example of two assets that have negative correlation are U.S. Oil Fund (USO) and U.S. Global Jets ETF (JETS). Let’s take their performance during the past three months as an example, between 1 June 2020 to 1 September 2020. It’s evident in the charts that these two assets are negatively correlated.

 

 

Chart 3: USO https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/fund/uso
Chart 4: JETS https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/fund/jets

What does no investment correlation mean?

When two assets have no investment correlation, it is when their correlation is close to 0. Have you ever watched the way that a small litter of puppies run around in random directions? This is a great example of something having no correlation.

As much as we all love puppies, a (more relevant) example of two assets that have no correlation are SPDR Gold Shares (GLD) and Moderna, Inc. (MRNA) between 1 August 2020 and 1 September 2020. SPDR Gold Shares tracks the performance of gold, and Moderna, Inc. is a biotechnology company, most notably developing a vaccine candidate for COVID-19. In the graphs below you will see that they don’t have much of a correlation to each other during this time frame, therefore they are uncorrelated.

Graph 5: GLD https://finance.yahoo.com/quote/GLD/
Graph 6: MRNA https://finance.yahoo.com/quote/mrna?ltr=1

What does investment correlation mean for diversification?

Correlation is important when thinking about your portfolio and how to diversify stocks. Some assets do well and some do poorly during the same macroeconomic factors. Let’s take the current COVID pandemic as an example. We have seen tech stocks soaring, while airline stocks have dropped.

The modern portfolio theory argues that by reducing the correlation between assets within a portfolio, investors can diversify and reduce their risk.

Finding uncorrelated assets can help you manage risk to ensure you have the right mix of securities so that your portfolio is less susceptible to substantial moves in the market.

Keep in mind that correlation of certain securities can change, especially within different time periods. January of 2019 compared to January of 2020 for the same two assets may be completely different. But, if two assets have been correlated over a long period of time, you can probably guess that they’ll continue to be relatively correlated for the near future, if there are no major macroeconomic factors affecting each.